Collection Development Policy

To demonstrate my understanding of selection and management issues of collections at academic libraries, I wrote a collection development policy for a library in the State University of New York (SUNY) system. I selected the Purchase College Library as my case study because of a familiarity with their resources, which I used while conducting research for the Neuberger Museum of Art. To write this policy, I considered the missions of the SUNY-system, SUNY Purchase, and the Library. I learned about the Library’s print, digital, and special collections, and envisioned what a 21st-century policy would address.

This policy was not written in collaboration with SUNY Purchase. To eliminate potential confusion, the name of the institution in the document has been changed.

 

 

About Gina Shelton

I am a Reference Clerk at the Pratt Institute Libraries' Brooklyn campus and am currently working on my MSLIS.
